Follow Me

Drama | 16 mins | Dutch (Belgium) | 2015

Directed by: Anthony Schatteman | Written by: Stephen Dhondt and Anthony Schatteman
Starring: Ezra Fieremans and Maarten Ketels

Follow Me SS

Eighteen-year-old Jasper is madly in love with his art teacher. Overcome with confusion and longing, Jasper takes to following his teacher and his new girlfriend wherever they go.


Why you should watch it:

  • Beauitfully shot
  • Wonderful score

A little more insight…

I need to confess something – my original review disappeared. I have my notes but I don’t have that initial feeling for the film. I will do my best…

Follow Me appears to be a story about a young guy with a misguided infatuation with his teacher – he follows him, he fantasise about him and he paints him. A first crush scenario.

However almost immediately a tension is built between the characters without a single word being said – something must’ve happened.

When Jasper starts following his teacher, it does appear a little stalkerish – which is neither attractive or normal, but you have to remember he is young and in love (or at least in his eyes).

The short does well to keep the viewer guessing as to what is reality and what is fantasy through it’s score and how each scene is cut and shot. Eventually we find out that something has happened.

It isn’t until the ending till we get a glimpse as to how something came to be and, despite a possibly bleak ending, things end well.

Perhaps things started with a “follow me”, or for the first time at the end, through eye contact and body language, he said “follow me”.

I can’t shake the feeling that I’ve missed something 😦


Things that bugged me:

  • The shot from behind during a key dialogue scene
Leave a Reply

