An Afternoon (BOF14)

Drama/Romance | 8mins | Danish (Denmark) | 2014
An Afternoon SS 
“Today is the day! Mathias is in love with Frederik and now he’s going to tell him just that… But when the moment of truth arrives is he brave enough to make the first move?”

Directed by: Sören Green
Written by: 
Sören Green & Tomas Lagermand Lundme
Starring: Ulrik Windfeldt-Schmidt & Jacob Ottensten


Oh, how I wish I could be young again and relive some wonderful moments. You know, those firsts. An Afternoon pleasantly sums up that, almost fear, of wanting to tell your first crush that you like them but not knowing if they feel the same – especially if you’re already friends and you’re gay. I can imagine it being a lot easier these days (in most places) with how accepting people are, which this film ultimately reflects.

So rather than a typical he’s gay and fancies his straight mate, they’re both gay but equally as nervous about talking about it. It’s just a natural attraction. Natural feelings. It’s not that they’re ashamed of who they are, they’re just discovering it and they’re just feeling what any teenager would feel regardless of sexual orientation.

I was rooting all along for Mathias to just pluck up the courage because I remember being in a similar position. I got a vibe from Mathias too, and it was nice that the girl texting him was trying to be a matchmaker – we’ve all had faghags.

It just made me feel good, how can I critique something that made me smile?!

 

Things I Liked:
1 - Uplifting feeling
2 - Relatability
3 - Simplicity
4 - Non-sexualisation
Things I Didn't Like:
1 - Feeling the frustration
2 - Them not listening to me through the screen
Leave a Reply

