Followers (BOF13)

Drama/Comedy | 12mins | English (UK) | 2015
 
“When an elderly woman sees a vision of Jesus on the trunks of a young African man at her swimming class, she befriends him as she believes God has sent her a sign for him to free her of her loneliness.”

Written & Directed by: Tim Marshall
Starring: Valmai Jones & Mark Oliver


Followers has me torn. On one hand it is a darkly funny short with clear religious iconography and imagery running throughout, whether it is the “Oh Jesus!” during a sexual act or the fact that they float in the shape of a crucifix. However there was something missing for me, there wasn’t a hook or a surprise. I can’t truly put my finger on it and don’t want to appear to be slating a well produced short, but it just didn’t WOW me.

Things I Liked:
1 - The religious imagery
2 - The unconventional protagonist

Things I Didn't Like:
1 - Lack of a wow factor
Leave a Reply

