My Last Ten Hours With You: REVIEWED

Genre: Drama     Run. Time: 15mins     Language: English     Year: 2007
Directed by: Sophie Hyde
Written by: Matthew Cormack
Starring
Joel McIlroy as Jeremy
Toby Schmitz as Mark
Misc.
Filmed/Produced in Australia
Finalist in the Iris Prize
Available as part of the Boys on Film 6 collection

mylastbof6

“At 6am Jeremy and Mark will go their separate ways. Their last ten hours together over one hot night will be punctuated with friends, fights and frustrations as they wait it out.”

… in 1 word:
Unfulfilled.

… in 10 words:
The execution fails to live up to the short’s premise.

… in 100 words:
The title excites me. The premise with its promise of friends, fights and frustrations excites me. However in its execution I found it to be falling short of what I imagined. As a finalist in the Iris Prize it certainly does deserve some congratulations. It actually is quite well acted; I believed the characters frustrations. Their relationship is intriguing to watch as the goodbye draws closer but there’s little cause and effect. Maybe I expected a bit more drama. Maybe I don’t like normal, though maybe that’s what other people like about it; it’s real. It just wasn’t for me.

Now go and watch it…
Leave a Reply

